TON has another Good Design. For chairs Tram and Mojo

Two of our products have received the oldest and the most prestigious international design award. The title of Good Design 2013 was given to the Tram chair by Austrian designer Thomas Feichtner and the Mojo chair from a young Slovak designer Michal Riabič.

I am very pleased that the Tram Chair was awarded with the Good Design award. It is wonderful for a designer when such a harmonious cooperation with a producer such as TON is crowned with such an internationally renowned award”, Thomas Feichtner commented on the award winning. “It is a perfect reward for TON's development team and our joint effort to challenge the limits of wood. We have pushed the edge beyond possible by designing all wood cantilever chair”, added Michal Riabič, the designer of the Mojo chair and the art director of TON.

Tram by Austrian designer Thomas Feichtner was introduced at the trade fair Salone del Mobile in Milan in 2013. It is an exceptional chair that links the technology used for more than 150 years with contemporary design and constructional processing. The designer has created the first chair in the TON’s portfolio that combines shaped seat with traditionally bent beech parts. He has also simplified construction of the chair by using the backrest as a connection between legs with no need for further support. The chair is available with armrests too, which emphasize the unique technology of manual wood bending even more. Last year Tram received the German Design Award Nominee 2014 and Interior Innovation Award Selection 2014.

Mojo is one of the first all-wood cantilever chairs. The technology of manual wood bending was transferred into the spring base allowing a gentle rocking from back to front. This movement helps to stimulate brain and makes Mojo a perfect choice for creative workspaces as well as homes. Mojo has received the title of Furniture of the Year 2013 in Czech Republic and Innovationspreise Architektur + 2013.

The award

Good Design is the oldest and the most prestigious international design award. It was established in Chicago in 1950 and every year is granted by The Chicago Athenaeum, the American Museum of Architecture and Design, in cooperation with the European Centre for Architecture, Art, Design and Urban Studies. It covers new products that have been designed and manufactured in Europe, Asia, Africa, North and South America, in more than twenty categories.